Everyone needs a spotter

Posted: August 26, 2008 in general flying
Tags: , ,

You’ve heard Carl stress this many times: everyone needs a spotter. Well, there was a moment this past weekend while I was spotting that thoroughly reinforced this need to me.

While George was flying his B-25 he suddenly lost visibility due to one of his contacts. Thankfully at that critical moment I was watching his plane, instead of being distracted by the other activity at the field as I have caught myself being at other times. George was able to hand me the transmitter and I immediately was able to keep the plane straight and level until George was able to take back the controls. This was the first time a situation like that had happened to me while I was spotting and I was much relived that I was able to do my job.

As a reminder for all of us, here are Carl’s rules for spotting as he discussed in the March edition of the club’s Flight Box newsletter.

“Even if you are the only pilot in the air, you still need a spotter. A spotter can warn you if someone (or something) is on the runway. A spotter is the most important safety measure we can implement. Your spotter should know their responsibilities to call out the pilots intentions. If you are using a When a spotter who is just standing there, they aren’t much use to the pilot. When a spotter or pilot announces their intentions, it’s a good practice to acknowledge the other pilots and/or spotters announcement. This insures that all the other pilots understand what is going on in the air and on the ground. A simple “Okay!” is sufficient.”

One thing I’d like to add is that when you choose a spotter that that person has some piloting skills or there might be quit a different ending to your story.

Leave a Reply

