Maiden attempt of the Falcon 25

Posted: August 31, 2008 in r/c airplane video, r/c airplanes
Tags: , ,

Well, we tried to maiden the Falcon today.  I had sorted out the details and Jason was ready to fly it, so we doubled checked everything and gave it a go.

The confirmed specs looked good with the 6.5 x 6 prop and 6-cells:

42.29 AMPs
944 WATTs
24,000 RPM

What I wasn’t able to confirm was the thrust.  This would have helped identify a mistake I made in mounting the prop.  I had mounted the prop with the numbers facing out.  When using a tractor prop on a pusher, I should have flipped the prop over and mounted it with the numbers facing in.

I will have to order a replacement prop as the prop had splintered hitting weeds and so we’ll give it another go next week.

Here is the video of the aborted maiden attempts.

Comments
  1. […] of the Falcon 25 This time I mounted the prop correctly and Jason took her off! I used a 6.5 x 5 prop as the 6.5 x 6 hadn’t come in […]

Leave a Reply

