Pacific Aeromodel’s KNOCKABOUT .46 ARF (UPDATED-AGAIN)

Posted: January 27, 2009 in general flying, r/c airplane video, r/c airplanes
Tags: , ,

update – We now have a trifecta of Knockabouts flying at our club.  Dave liked how ours flew and wanted one.  He went with the yellow one so we’d all have different colors.

Watch Dave’s maiden flight:

George and I picked up the Pacific Aeromodel’s KNOCKABOUT at the recent AMA Expo held in southern California at the Ontario Convention Center.

At the Expo, we spoke with the KNOCKABOUT’S designer, Jim Feldmann, and he told us that he’s worked on this design for over 10 years to get the flying characteristics just right.  As descibed on the web site, the KNOCKABOUT has a special high lift airfoil that makes the plane ideal for on-the-deck flying, either high speed or low and slow. Sophisticated aerodynamics make it incredibly smooth in any attitude, yet it is aerobatic at your command.

George was the first to get his in the air.  His is a 6 cell electric conversion and it flew very nicely.  Mine should be flying this coming weekend with an OS .55AX.

Watch George’s maiden flight:

update – As I mentioned above, I picked up my Knockabout at the AMA Expo from the planes designer, Jim Feldmann. It was one of his demo planes and the price was right.

I mounted my OS 55AX with a 13×6 prop and it really made this sport plane come alive. All it took was this one flight to know I had a plane that I’ll always want in my collection.

Watch my maiden flight:

Leave a Reply

